The end of Wano was such shit that Yamato haters thought her staying behind was stupid.

That's actually fucking impressive, how you do that Oda?
I've been arguing alongside dizzy for 2 years that Yamato was set-up to be Wano's guardian deity by the the end of the arc so I wasn't surprised but I still found the execution complete ass
How can you have such a big decision happen off-screen???
"Obvious"

Not even Oda knew it lmao

He changed his mind

he was 100% making her a Nakama

he made Chapters 999 and 1000 about her and Luffy
he didn't change his mind
he was baiting the readers

I've been arguing alongside dizzy for 2 years that Yamato was set-up to be Wano's guardian deity by the the end of the arc so I wasn't surprised but I still found the execution complete ass
How can you have such a big decision happens off-screen???

he didn't change his mind
he was baiting the readers
Ryokugyu saving us from Yamato made him a hero, but Yamatos random “fuck being a pirate” out of nowhere with no actual internal dialogue about it was complete ass

Ryokugyu saving us from Yamato made him a hero, but Yamatos random “fuck being a pirate” out of nowhere with no actual internal dialogue about it was complete ass
all that was really needed is a few pages dedicated to Yamato's introspection post-Ryokugyu battle.
but i guess oda wanted her change of mind to be a twist, cause he found it more fun.

all that was really needed is a few pages dedicated to Yamato's introspection post-Ryokugyu battle.
but i guess oda wanted her change of mind to be a twist, cause he finds more fun.
Or hell giving her an internal dialogue during the Ryo fight where she talks about how important protecting this country and people Oden loved so much really is.

Like it literally would take 2 pages and oda decided to not do it strictly for shock value

Oda giving awakenings to everybody but Big Mom and Kaido was also stupid