Controversial Is it okay to not care about politics?

I care

but only enough to post my opinions on the internet and vote every few years.

I don’t care enough to protest. Or to get arrested and get my ass beat by the police.

I have a really good job as an engineer. However my company supports the US government and the war in Israel. I’m probably, in some ways, contributing to the suffering of the Palestinians.

But I feel like I can live with that. It’s not my responsibility to deal with that issue. I’m not the one in control of the US government or Israel. I’m not deciding to bomb or kill. I’m just a replaceable engineer who works to build software tools.

I suppose that’s how the Germans rationalized their actions during the nazi regime. But was that even wrong of them?

Of course it’s wrong to actually be a nazi. But what if you are just a German who works for the Nazis? Not in a concentration camp or anything. Just a factory worker.

Could you really blame those people for not standing up to the nazis? I read about the Germans who did stand up to the nazis. They were all murdered and died meaningless deaths. Years later they are now honored as heroes who stood up against evil. But that’s all they get.

They didn’t get to live the rest of their lives. They didn’t get to marry, have children, grow old.

That’s what I want. I want to live a good life. And I feel like politics, while having its place, isn’t really conducive to having a good life if it becomes your identity. Perhaps that is selfish. But what is wrong with being selfish? Everyone is selfish. Being selfish is how you survive in this world.

Are there things I wouldn’t do? Of course. I try my best to live a moral life. But why should I be expected to sacrifice my livelihood, especially when doing so wouldn’t change a thing?

If I wasn’t doing my job, someone else would be. If I were to quit to protest my company’s actions, I wouldn’t be helping the world, I’d just be hurting myself.